The department offers  two year Masters Degree course in Communication and Journalism (MCJ) and Ph.D. Majority of students who have passed out of this department are working with reputed media organizations in the country and abroad.

The department was established in the year 1976, under the headship of Prof. Maxwell Fernandez. Admitted 25 students in the first batch, based on an entrance test. It was the first time that an entrance test was conducted to admit students to any course in the state. From the very first year of its inception, the Department had all the basic facilities to impart a meaningful training in mass communication. It also started subscribing to PTI news service. Under the able leadership of Prof. Maxwell Fernandez, a galaxy of senior media personalities also offered their service as visiting faculty.

Succession List of HODs

No. Name of HODs
1. Prof. Maxwell Fernandez
2. Dr. Syed Amjed Ahmed
3. Dr. M. Thangadorai
4. Dr. K.E. Eapen
5. Dr. J.V. Vilanilam
6. Dr. M. Thangadorai
7. Ms. Rekha M. Sasidharan
8. Mr.M. Vijayakumar
9. Dr.Subash Kuttan
10. Dr.M.S. Harikumar